The Times of India

Manipur to get eight new police stations, outposts soon

IMPHAL: The Manipur government has decided to open eight new police stations, as many police outposts and seven fire sub-stations.

The decision was taken at a state cabinet meeting chaired by chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh on Tuesday evening.

Government spokesman and rural development minister Moirangthem Okendro Singh on Wednesday said the new police stations will come up at Sagang, Kangvai and Behiang in Churachandpur district, Ningthoukhong in Bishnupur district, Heirok Mayai Leikai and Irong Cheisaba in Thoubal district, Leimakhong and Kangchup in Senapati district.

Singh said the police outposts will come up at Hiyangthang, Langol Laimanai, Nungei, Lambui, Nunglei-band (Leimatak), S Khawlian (Thinkeu village), Tingpui (Laimanai), Kabui village and Nongdam.

The cabinet also resolved to create 126 posts for the new power sub-stations to be opened at Heirok and Lilong (Thoubal), Porompat and Lamlai (Imphal East), Sekmai and Khumbong (Imphal West) and Litan (Ukhrul), said Singh.

It also decided to regularize the service of 73 contractual primary investigators of economics and statistics department, while four vacant posts of assistant directors of the same department would be filled up through the Manipur Public Service Commission (MPSC), said the minister.